Results for the 2020 General election have been finalized for Charlton County.

Locally, a special election for Folkston City Council At-Large was listed on the ballot. Candidate Raymond Roberts, Sr. won the seat by a margin of 395 to 390 votes. Sadly, Councilman-elect Roberts passed away Wednesday, November 4. The city will hold another special election at a later date. The Herald will give details of the next election as they become available. 

Folkston mayor Lee Gowen shared, “I and the Folkston City Council would like to extend our thoughts and prayers to the family of Mr. Roberts during this trying time.”

Seats running unopposed were Wendy Whitaker-Lee, Clerk of Superior Court; Robert Phillips, Sheriff; Ross Ferrell, Soil and Water–Satilla River; Jesse Crews, County Commissioner District three; James Everett, County Commissioner District two; Blaine Murray, Coroner; Debra Mizell, Tax Commissioner; Curtis Nixon, Board of Education District two; Matthew Sands, Board of Education District four; Steven Sainz, State House District 180; Shelia McNeill, State Senate District three; Tyler Harper, State Senate District seven; and John Corbett, State House District 174.

Charlton favored Jason Shaw, Public Service Commission District one; Lauren Bubba McDonald, Jr., Public Service Commission District four; Earl L. “Buddy” Carter, US House District one; David A. Perdue, US Senate; Doug Collins, US State Senate; and Donald J. Trump, President.

A run-off election will be held December 1 between Lauren Bubba McDonald, Jr. and Daniel Blackman, Public Service Commission District Four.

Charlton also voted YES to all Constitutional Amendments.

For state results, visit