The Charlton County Board of Commissioners held its first meeting of 2020 Thursday, January 2 in the conference room. Commissioners Jesse Crews and Luke Gowen were absent.

During the meeting, the commissioners voted to renew the agreement with Earl A. Lawson, CPA, to work on the year-end audit. Lawson will also work with Don Crews, CPA, on any necessary end-of-the-year adjustments. 

Also during the meeting, the commissioners approved the renewal of the 2020 proposal for Methane and Surface Water Monitoring at the Folkston and St. George landfills. The monitoring and reporting will be done the same as it was in 2019. The cost will not exceed $9,300.00. 

The county received a resolution for the continuing operation and maintenance of the boat ramp and future construction of a parking lot at Burnt Fort by the Department of Natural Resources. The motion was made and passed unanimously. There is no current time line on this project.

Other news: The meeting dates for the commissioner meetings were set, as well as the 2020 liaison appointments. Chief Appraiser Lane York stated the Account Correction Order (ACO) summary, a list of corrections made to the values of Public Utilities, was received from the state. Chairman James Everett, Vice-Chairman Alphya Benefield and county attorney, John Adams, were reappointed. Merrill Varn and Sam Williams were re-named on the St. Marys River Management Committee. Orival Thompson and Mike Harris will continue on the Fire Board, so long as each member so wishes.

The commissioners will hold their next workshop Thursday, January 16 at 6:00 p.m. in the BOC conference room.