By Marla Ogletree

The Charlton County Board of Assessors and Charlton County Board of Commissioners held a joint meeting, Tuesday, January 14.

During the meeting, the 2020 Qualifying Fees were renewed for the upcoming elections. A motion was made and passed to hire attorney Todd Carteran, with Brown, Readdick, Bumgartner, Carter, Strickland and Watkins for upcoming litigation.

The Charlton Board of Commissioners held its regularly scheduled workshop Thursday, January 16. 

During the meeting, the commissioners heard from Elizabeth Backe with the Southern Georgia Regional Commission on the comprehensive plan for the county. The county is required to update the plan every five years. The plan would include updating land use polocies with potential additions of thoroughfares and corridors. Backe suggested the county issue zoning in areas of the county to encourage development. Commissioner Luke Gowen stated the main goal of zoning would be to implement standards without too much restriction in order to clean up the main entrances and roadways in the county. Backe suggested the commissioners take their time, and once the comprehensive plan is adopted, they can then decide what their priorities are. She stated the plan must be finalized by June.

Also during the meeting, the commissioners discussed changing over to a value-based system for construction loans instead of a square-foot basis. There is currently a $50 minimum permit fee. The board heard from citizen Melad Smith, who asked the commissioners to reconsider the permitting fees for used mobile homes. He stated there are times the fees cost more than the mobile home itself. County Administrator Hampton Raulerson stated the county is thinking of creating a flat rate for new and used mobile homes. The commissioners will look over the information and discuss further.

Raulerson stated Ralph Davis Road has been closed for renovations to the bridge, and a detour has been approved and put into place.

The commissioners will meet again, Thursday, February 6 at 6:00 p.m. in the Board of Commissioners conference room.