The Board of Commissioners met on January 6 at 6:00 p.m.; all members were present. The amended agenda and last month’s minutes were approved. The chairman, vice-chairwoman and attorney were approved for 2022.

Next, the board approved the county board of tax assessors’ request to now consist of three members instead of five.

Then, the board’s 2022 meeting calendar was approved. Board appointments were also approved for the Board of Health, Kathy Stapleton; Development Authority, Mark Pickren; Department of Family and Children Services, Robert Atwater; Fire Board, Orival Thompson, Jr., Mike Paris and Jesse Crews; Library Board, Mary Kay Lindquist.

The considered approval of the GDOT memorandum agreement for the local bridge replacement project on Grace Chapel Road at Spanish Creek was passed. An estimated $75,000 is required for the project’s anticipated complexity. Any left over funds that are not used in the project will be returned to the county.

Paxton Road bridge, recently completed, was dedicated to Corbett L. Nazworth for his service to the Department of Transportation, City of Folkston and Charlton County. The commissioner supported the motion unanimously.

These are the 2022 liaison appointments: Southern Georgia Regional Commission, Chairman James Everett; Health Board, Vice-chairwoman Alphya Benefield; Fire Board, Commissioner Jesse Crews; St. Marys River Management Committee, Commissioners Benefield and Everett; Library Board, Commissioners Luke Gowen and Benefield; Okefenokee Chamber of Commerce, Commissioners Gowen and Everett; Budget Committee, Commissioners Benefield, Gowen and Everett; Recreation Board, Commissioner Crews.

In the public comments section, Elaine Bailey looks forward to working with the board in the upcoming year. She thanked them for their time and dedication.

As for commissioners’ comments, Commissioner Benefield thanked everyone present and encouraged everyone to take care of his family, along with to being aware of Omicron.

The commissioners adjourned at 6:13 p.m., and the next regular meeting will be on Thursday, January 20 at 6:00 p.m.